The National Safety Commission Alerts

Safety is No Accident. Visit the National Safety Commission - America's Safety Headquarters for driver safety information, auto recalls and teen safe driver tips.

Thursday, September 28, 2006

California Bans Drivers From Holding Phones

Violators Face Fines Up To $50

Thanks to a bill signed recently by Gov. Arnold Schwarzenegger, California drivers will need an earpiece or speaker to use their mobile phones while driving.

According to California Highway Patrol statistics dating to 2001, cell-phone use is the top cause of accidents instigated by distracted drivers. The law, which makes it an infraction to hold a cell phone while driving, goes into effect on July 1, 2008, and imposes fines of up to $50. It is similar to laws in New York, New Jersey, Connecticut and Washington D.C.

"Getting people's hands off their phones and onto their steering wheels is going to make a big difference in road safety," Schwarzenegger said. "The simple fact is it's dangerous to talk on your cell phone while driving."

Exemptions will be made for calls to emergency-service providers, as well as for drivers of emergency vehicles. Push-to-talk phones can be used by commercial vehicle drivers until July 1, 2011.

Along with motor vehicle safety, driver education helps ensure the safety of young Americans. Whether they're getting their Learner's Permit or a Motorcycle License, America's Driver License Headquarters is

© 2011 All rights reserved.
The National Safety Commission, Inc.
PO Box 3359
Ponte Vedra Beach, FL 32004-3359

AddThis Feed Button