Safety is No Accident. Visit the National Safety Commission - America's Safety Headquarters for driver safety information, auto recalls and teen safe driver tips.
Tuesday, February 16, 2010
Driver Responsibility Laws in New York
In both New York and Texas, the Driver Responsibility Assessment Law places a financial penalty on drivers who have accumulated too many points over and above the cost of the ticket. Depending on the offense, a driver may have to pay a minimum of $100 per year in order to maintain their driving privileges. For example, A New York driver who accumulates 6 points within an 18 month period will have to pay an annual "Driver Responsibility Assessment" of $100 per year for a three year period. Each additional point on the driving record after the initial assessment will result in an additional $25 per point. Failure to pay the annual assessments will result in suspension of driving privileges.
Below is a breakdown of New York state's assessment/surcharge offenses and costs:
New York's Driver Responsibility Law applies to anyone, whether licensed in New York or not, who commits any of the following offenses while driving in New York State.
If you are convicted of a traffic violation that is alcohol-related or drug-related, or if you refuse a chemical test, the annual assessment is $250. The minimum amount that you must pay each year is the annual assessment. The total assessment for the three years is $750.
If you receive six points on your driving record within eighteen months, your assessment will be $100 per year for a three year period or a total of $300. $25 is assessed for each additional point over and above the original six points.
For example: A driver convicted of driving more than 21 mph over the speed limit will receive six points and will be assessed $100 per year. If that driver is convicted of another violation and receives two additional points, the assessment will be $150 per year or a total of $450.
With a New York defensive driving course can provide up to a four-point reduction in the total number of active points on your driving record, depending on when the points were assessed. Learn more about the eligibiltiy requirements and benefits of a defensive driving course to protect your NY driving record.
For more information on the New York Driver Responsibility Law, visit: http://www.nydmv.state.ny.us/DRP.HTM